Red Velvet Cheesecake Bars

I have a confession to make… Are you ready?

I don’t like red velvet cake.

I know, I know. I also kill puppies and laugh at funerals. Really, though, it’s that it isn’t chocolaty enough to be chocolate cake or vanilla-y to be vanilla. It’s tastes to me like…. sweet nothing. With cream cheese frosting, which is always delicious. However, it does seem to be the favorite cake of nearly everyone I know, so I know that I’m the exception. With one quick flash of red,  you can make best friends and devoted fans for life– so I was intrigued when I saw a recipe at Baking Bites for Red Velvet Cheesecake Brownies. Faster and easier than making a multi-layer cake, super-pretty, and all the flair of red velvet– without such a wishy-washy taste– and cheesecake is a perfect riff on cream cheese frosting.

Ok, I admit it, I’m still not in love. But I’m the only one! My husband’s coworkers have requested them twice since I sent them in 2 weeks ago, his boss went out of his way to mention how much he liked them, and I feel like a rock star every time I pull something so effortlessly pretty out of the oven– after 15 minutes of work. So if you like red velvet cake– or want hordes of adoring fans– get to it.

Leave a Reply

