A Pie for Mikey (and Jennifer)

If you read food blogs, you’ve probably already heard the sad news: Jennifer Perillo‘s husband passed away unexpectedly last week. I’ve never met Jennifer, but she’s very much at the core of the NYC food blogger community– as well as a good bit of the community beyond. I first learned of her loss on Twitter, and I was surprised at just how much my heart could break for someone I’d never met in person, who I just knew through her words. Turns out, it’s not just me– in a recent post, Jennifer asked all of us to

“make a peanut butter pie this Friday and
share it with someone you love.
Then hug them like there’s no tomorrow
because today is the only guarantee we can count on.”

And so I did– and so did what seem like hundreds of other bloggers who have been touched by Jennifer’s writing and the family (and food) she writes about.

I used the recipe she shared here— and hope that you, too, make a pie to share with those you love this weekend.

Wishing all of you who’ve lost someone dear the healing you need.

Leave a Reply

